Vote Primary Day - February 28

Primary Day is Feb. 28. Polls are open for residents to vote in two races in Evanston. Early voting at the Civic Center is open daily (except Sunday) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and ends on Feb. 27. 

CSNA recently hosted a forum for candidates for the offices of Clerk and Mayor. You can find video of the entire program, including presentations from candidates in the 6th and 7th Wards at this link to Evanston Now. And, The Daily Northwestern covered the event, and posted this story.

Mayoral Primary. There are five candidates for Mayor. The top two recipients of votes will then be on the ballot for the municipal election on April 4. If one candidate receives 50% of the vote in the primary, that person will be elected Mayor on Feb. 28. The five candidates are:

  • Brian Miller
  • Mark Tendam
  • Gary Gaspard
  • Steve Hagerty
  • Jeffrey P. "Jeff" Smith

There is also a primary in the 5th Ward for Alderman. The two top vote getters will then be on the ballot on April 4. The candidates are:

  • Robin Rue
  • Carolyn Murray
  • Daniel Featherson
  • Carlis B. Sutton
  • Misty Witenberg    

There are two candidates for City Clerk; this race will be decided on April 4. Those candidates are Rodney Greene (incumbent) and Devon Reid.

There are two candidates in the 6th ward; this race will be decided on April 4. The two candidates are Virginia Mann and Thomas Suffredin. 

There is no content in the 7th Ward. Ald. Revelle is unopposed.

Learn more about the primary election at this link.

More detailed information on the citywide election is here.

The Cook County Clerk's Office oversees all elections and voter registration inforamtion. Visit the Clerk's site for more information.