Canal Shores Golf Course elects new officers and board members

Inline image 1


For Immediate Release

Nov. 25, 2016

Contact: Pro Shop – 847/475-9173 or


The Evanston Wilmette Golf Course Association has announced the election of new Board members for 2017. The election was held Nov. 17 at a meeting of the Board of Directors. Chris Carey of Evanston, who has served as chair of the Grounds Committee, was elected president.

Members elected from Evanston are Carl Bova, Chris Carey, Tom Mann and Steve Neumann. Continuing to serve from Evanston are: Mark McCarthy, Mike O'Connor, Tim Pretzsch, Joe Rickard, Ray Tobin, Perry Weinberg, and Debbie Weixl. Elected to represent Wilmette on the Board are: Kevin Kane, Don Olson, Rudy Van Loon and Dan Wikel. They join current members Karl Leinberger, Larry Mages, John Powers and Todd Ricketts.

Officers of the Association for two year terms are: President Chris Carey of Evanston; Larry Mages of Wilmette, vice president; Treasurer Kevin Kane of Wilmette; and Debbie Weixl, Evanston, secretary.  The officers serve a two-year term and along with the chair of the Grounds Committee, Steve Neumann of Evanston, constitute the executive committee.

The Board has elected Peter Conway, David Fenn, Sherry McAuliffe, David McPherson and Jason Way of Evanston; and Frank Candioto of Wilmette, as Associates. To expand its effort to reach out to the community, the Association has a large number of additional volunteers who serve as consultants and bring skills and experience in marketing, financial services, business operations, golf management and youth golf programming. They include: Tim Dable and Scott Thompson of Chicago; Rick Bald, Greg Braun, Mike Buenzow, Tom Bush, Brad Drake, Jim Farley, and Matt Rooney all from Evanston; and, Julie Fleetwood, Chris Hasbrook, Mike Novosel and Keith Veneziano of Wilmette. 

The Board wishes to recognize Jeff Stewart and Jay Ryan for their contributions and long service to the Association as they step down from the Board. They will join a distinguished list of past members including Bill Andersen, Dobie Burton, Bill Debs, Dick Fischl, Paul Giddings, Pat Hughes, David Iskowich, Chuck Logan, John LoSasso, Mike Matchen, Jerry Murphy, Jack Page, Jack Richards, Nancy Ross and Greg Wilson. 

The 19-member Board is comprised of representatives of the community surrounding the golf course known as Canal Shores that runs through Evanston and Wilmette along the north shore channel.  The Board is responsible for the management and operations of the course. More information on the course and activities can be found at or on the course’s Facebook page.


The EWGCA Board of Directors meets the third Thursday of every month at 6:30 p.m., except December, in the meeting room in the American Legion Hall, second floor of the golf association building at 1030 Central Street. All members of the community are welcome to attend. Other committee and special meetings are posted on the Association website.  The Association invites all residents to join our email list to receive periodic news about the golf course. To join, contact or visit


About Canal Shores Golf Course and the Evanston Wilmette Golf Course Association – The Association, a non-profit, all-volunteer organization, was formed in 1919 to manage the operations of the 18-hole Canal Shores Golf Course. It is established as a charitable organization and qualifies as an exempt organization under Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The course runs along the North Shore Channel from Green Bay Road in Evanston to the Baha’i Temple near Wilmette Harbor. The land that comprises Canal Shores is sub-leased by the Association from the City of Evanston and Village of Wilmette, which lease property from its owner, the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Cook County. It offers programs that celebrate the game of golf, with special programs designed for families, youth and the community. Visit to learn more about the Association and the golf course. 


Canal Shores Golf Course

1030 Central Street


Evanston, IL 60201